
Changes to RRS 17
We are grateful to Chris Simon, RYA Regional Rules Advisor, for identifying this issue and for the contribution 
of him and Ana Sanchez de Campo, Chairman of the World Sailing Racing Rules Committee, to this document.

In the 2025-2028 changes, the final sentence was removed from RRS 17 which is believed to have a significant 
effect on a particular situation when a boat tacks ahead of and close to another boat to end up on the same 
tack (slam-dunk).

In the 2021-2024 RRS, the final (and now removed) sentence of RRS 17 meant that the leeward boat had 
luffing rights if it were overlapped with the tacking boat when the tack was complete (i.e. when the tacking 
boat reaches close-hauled on the new tack). In the 2025-2028 RRS, with this sentence removed, this ‘decision 
point’ has moved to when both boats are on the same tack (i.e. when the tacking boat passes head-to-wind).

This has some implication on the text in Rules in Practice:
• On P46, You are A, bullet 3, last sentence should read: Because B was clear astern when you passed through 

head-to-wind, she does not have luffing rights so must not sail higher than her proper course, but you must 
keep clear. (Rule 11)

• On P46, You are B, bullet 2 should read: At the completion of A’s tack you are overlapped to leeward of 
A, so you are the right of way boat. However, you cannot luff above your proper course since you became 
overlapped from clear astern and within a distance of two boat lengths of the windward boat. (Rule 17)

• On P57, lower diagram, You are B, bullet 1 should read: When A passed head-to-wind, you were clear 
astern. If you then choose to move inside and become overlapped to leeward of A, you won’t have luffing 
rights. However, you can still luff as needed to sail your proper course around the mark (the path you would 
have taken if A hadn’t been there). If you need to luff above close-hauled to be able to round the mark as 
necessary to sail the course, you will be exonerated if, by doing so, you fail to give A room to keep clear. 
(Rules 17, 18.3, 43.1(b) & Definition Mark-Room)

• On P57, lower diagram, You are B, bullet 2 should read: Whether or not you have luffing rights, if your 
proper course is to gybe at the mark, you mustn’t sail higher than your proper course. (Rule 18.4)

The revised pages, incorporating these changes, are on the following pages.
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obstruction and took the room she was entitled to, she was exonerated under rule 43.1(b) if, by doing so, 
she broke rule 16. At the same time, the keep-clear boat could be exonerated if the sudden and fast course 
change of the right-of-way boat did not permit her to keep-clear. 

The change eliminates the possibility to exonerate the right of way boat, as a breach of rule 19.2(a) is not 
listed in rule 43.1(b).
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Obstruction

Hailing ‘Room to tack’, and the reply ‘You tack’
When a boat sailing close-hauled (or above) is 
approaching an obstruction (for example a shoreline 
or shallow water) and will need to tack but cannot 
tack without interfering with another boat, typically 
on her windward quarter, she may ask for room to 
tack. The hailed boat must respond either by giving 
room or promptly tacking (or hailing a third boat for 
room to tack). This is one of the few situations where 
a boat is compelled to do something in response to 
a hail. 

In the new rules the hailing boat must use the words 
‘Room to tack’. That is a rule change. The hailed boat 
if she elects not to tack, must hail, using the words 
’You tack’. 

There is no change to the requirement for the hailed 
boat to hail ‘You tack’ if she elects not to tack, but 
the requirement for the hailing boat requiring room 
to use the phrase ‘Room to tack’ is new.

Slam Dunk
In the 2025-2028 changes, the final sentence was 

removed from RRS 17 which is believed to have a 
significant effect on a particular situation when a boat 
tacks ahead of and close to another boat to end up 
on the same tack (slam-dunk).

In the 2021-2024 RRS, the final (and now removed) 
sentence of RRS 17 meant that the leeward boat had 
luffing rights if it were overlapped with the tacking 
boat when the tack was complete (i.e. when the 
tacking boat reaches close-hauled on the new tack). 

In the 2025-2028 RRS, with this sentence removed, 
this ‘decision point’ has moved to when both boats 
are on the same tack (i.e. when the tacking boat 
passes head-to-wind).

‘N’ flag displayed by the Race Committee
Signals used by the race committee; It is now made 
clear that the N flag (displayed alone or with H or 
A) refers only to races that are in progress and not 
races that have been completed. The race committee 
may abandon races that have been completed but 
that would be by a separate action, which does not 
require an on-the-water signal.

If Yellow can leave the 
obstruction on either side 
without sailing above her 
proper course, or if she 

has luffing rights, she may 
choose which side to go

but if she luffs to leave the 
obstruction to starboard, 

she must give room to Red 
to keep clear.

Has Yellow left it too late?

The fast luff deprives Red room 
to keep clear, Yellow breaks 

rules 19.2(a) and 16.1
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 You are A:
• As you approach on port tack your obligation is 
simple – to keep clear of B. (Rule 10)
• While you are tacking (until you are close-hauled on 
the new tack) you must keep clear of B. (Rule 13)
• When your tack is complete, you are overlapped 
on B’s windward bow putting B in your wind 
shadow. The manoeuvre is known as a ‘slam dunk’. 
Because B was clear astern when you passed 
through head-to-wind, she does not have luffing 
rights so must not sail higher than her proper 
course, but you must keep clear. (Rule 11)
• At the completion of your tack you must not be 
so close to B that B cannot luff without immediately 
making contact with you. (Rule 11 & Definition 
Keep Clear)

You are B:
• You are the right-of-way boat throughout this 
manoeuvre, and unless you change course, you do 
not need to give A room to keep clear. If there is a 
lift (beneficial wind shift) just as A is passing ahead, 
you may be prevented from fulfilling your wish to 
luff for a few seconds. (Rule 16.1)
• At the completion of A’s tack you are overlapped 
to leeward of A, so you are the right of way boat. 
However, you cannot luff above your proper course 
since you became overlapped from clear astern 
and within a distance of two boat lengths of the 
windward boat. (Rule 17)

When A completes 
his tack he is 
overlapped to 
windward of B.
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of B, who is allowed to sail his proper course (the 
course he would have sailed had you not been there). 
 (Rule 18.3)

You are B:
•When A passed head-to-wind, you were clear 
astern. If you then choose to move inside and become 
overlapped to leeward of A, you won't have luffing 
rights. However, you can still luff as needed to sail your 
proper course around the mark (the path you would 
have taken if A hadn't been there). If you need to luff 
above close-hauled to be able to round the mark as 
necessary to sail the course, you will be exonerated 
if, by doing so, you fail to give A room to keep clear. 
(Rules 17, 18.3, 43.1(b) & Definition Mark-Room)
• Whether or not you have luffing rights, if your 
proper course is to gybe at the mark, you mustn’t 
sail higher than your proper course. (Rule 18.4)
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A passes head to wind inside the zone and 
completes the tack clear ahead of B.

You are A:
• As you tack you must keep clear of B. (Rule 13)
• If you complete your tack without forcing B to 
change course to avoid you, the next thing you have 
to worry about is that if B, with superior speed, 
can avoid you only by sailing above his close-hauled 
course, then you have broken a rule, and must take 
a penalty. (Rule 18.3)
• Furthermore, if B chooses to bear away and gets 
an overlap to leeward of you, you must give him 
mark-room. (Rule 18.3)
• Basically, for this manoeuvre to succeed, you must 
stay clear until you have left the mark astern. (Rule 
18.3)

You are B:
• When A’s tack is complete, you become the keep-
clear boat, but if the only way you can avoid him is to 
luff above your close-hauled course, he has broken 
a rule and must take a penalty. (Rule 18.3)

• If you choose to bear away and get an overlap 
to leeward of A, A must give you mark-room and 
you may sail your proper course around the mark. 
(Rule 18.3)
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